Skip to Content

Hwy Workers Earn Certifications

Paintsville, KY, USA / WSIP FM 98.9 | New Country


Four maintenance specialists from Highway District 12 of the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet have earned distinction as Road Masters. In addition, all four earned certification as Road Scholars, a prerequisite for the Road Masters program. The four are Carl Austin and Lonnie Lewis of Letcher Co Maintenance, and Sammy Auxier and Jason Seagraves of Johnson Co Maintenance. Required courses for Road Scholar certification include Basic Work Zone and Flagger Qualifications; Drainage: The Key to Roads that Last; Low-Cost Roadways Safety Improvements; Risk Management/Tort Liability; Traffic Management through Signals, Signs, and Markings; and Understanding Differences in People. In addition, each graduate must successfully complete at least three of the following: Asphalt Paving Best Practices, Communications I, Construction of Concrete, Customer Service, Handling Harassment and Violence in the Workplace, Handling Leadership Responsibilities, Time Management and Conflict Resolution, Using Motivation and Discipline to Manage Successfully, and Working and Communicating as a Team.

To earn the Road Master designation, each candidate must complete the following coursework: Communications II, Developing Leadership Skills, Environmental Awareness, and Snow and Ice Removal. In addition, each candidate must choose at least three of the following: Basic Plan Reading, Computer Familiarization, courageous leaders and Courageous Followers, Erosion and Sediment Control, Hazardous Materials Awareness, Leading Challenging People with Emotional Intelligence, and Roadside/Vegetation Management.

Chief District Engineer Mary Westfall-Holbrook praised these employees, pointing out that each one made a huge commitment of time and effort to take on the challenge of these professional development programs. “These men have joined an elite group of KYTC employees who are determined to take advantage of the professional development opportunities offered by the Transportation Cabinet. We are proud of each one of them and grateful for their service to the citizens of District 12.”

Comments are closed.